Arwen – 1/14

I went to the gym this morning and did 30 minutes on the stationary bike and did extremely minimal free weights for arms…  Nothing too exciting, except for listening to a funny podcast and watching some of Obama’s news conference while I was riding.  I also was riding one ofthe super recumbent old people bikes instead of the ones that you actually sit up on, which was funny at first when it was me and three 70-somethings all in a row, but they left after a while.  Too bad, because I was digging it.

Also, I made SUPER easy (and very yummy) quinoa-stuffed peppers tonight:Image

Easy peasy recipe, and I only ate one pepper half (probably because I was munching rice crackers & carrots before) and will get to have it for two or three more meals this week!  I also think it would be good without the enchilada sauce, but I happened to have part of a jar and figured it would taste good.

Quinoa Stuffed Peppers

Bring ½ c quinoa and 1 c vegetable broth to a boil.  Boil 5 minutes, then cover and let steam for 15 minutes.

Cut two bell peppers in half and remove cores & seeds.  Microwave 2 minutes.

When quinoa is cooked, combine with ½ can black beans, ½ can fire-roasted tomatoes, ½ can green chilis (or use 1/2 can tomatoes & peppers instead of tomatoes and chilis separately), ¾ tsp cumin, 3/8 tsp chili powder, salt, and pepper.  Spoon quinoa mixture into the peppers.

Drizzle enchilada sauce in the bottom of the pan.  Cover all with foil and bake at 375 for 25-30 minutes.  Remove foil and cook 5 more minutes.  Top with a little cheese (add before final 5 minutes) or sliced avocado.

Yum!  And mostly improved/adapted from other recipes, woo!

Also, I found a surprise ingredient in the Trader Joe’s chickpea salad that I was having for lunch today…

Image

Certainly isn’t every day you find yourself eating sumac, haha!

And finally, a totally unrelated picture that was fun:wheel

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Arwen – 1/14

  1. pattiarwen says:

    Well, that wheel was pretty off the mark for me… hmmm.

    I have only had time for the 15 minute work outs in the morning, these past two days, and probably tomorrow as well. Back to the kick-butt 30 minute one on Thursday, hopefully. But at least I’m doing the 15 minute/1 brisk mile one (it’s actually pretty brisk and isn’t just walking; good cardio) and I can feel the difference during the day.

    As for the recumbent bike old-lady thing… yup, I have one of those, as you know. 😉

  2. pattiarwen says:

    Haha, it’s probably totally full of shit… Mine happened to be pretty good. Although yours has the stuff about strength and protection, and I would say you have gotten through some pretty tough shit like a champ, and you’re really good at taking care of other people… Hmm.

    I’m super proud of you for doing those 15 minute ones on busy days! That’s pretty badass! I’m about to have what will probably be a less active few days, too… but I am GOING to make it to kickboxing tonight, so help me!

    And the bike was so much more recumbent than yours, I can’t even explain to you. It was like this: http://www.saferwholesale.com/Magnetic-Recumbent-Bike-p/shf%20-%20sf-rb801.htm?Click=35179&gclid=CK3fx6z96rQCFaN_QgodRxMAVQ

    -Ar

  3. pattiarwen says:

    I guess my seat is a bit more upright than that, but otherwise — 🙂
    Have fun kickboxing again!! Get good at it, in case someone really annoys you, then you can just let ’em have it. 😉

Leave a Reply

